The NNA operates under the direction of the National Nursing Education Committee (NNEC) which was convened by the Nursing Education Unit (NEU) within Chief Nursing Officer’s Office (CNOO) in 2019. The NNEC sets the strategic direction and guides the NNA’s work.

The NNEC comprises representatives from government bodies, Institutes of Higher Learning and key industry partners. Together, members contribute their knowledge and expertise to lead NNA to achieve its vision as the trusted pacesetter for continuing professional nursing education and development.

NNEC Members

(Term of appointment: 1 April 2023 to 31 March 2025)




Ms Rahayu Mahzam (Advisor)

Minister of State (Health)

Ministry of Health

Ms Jasmin Lau (Co-Chairperson)

Deputy Secretary (Policy)

Ministry of Health

Ms Paulin Koh (Co-Chairperson)

Chief Nursing Officer

Ministry of Health


Mr Leong Wei Jian

Director, SkillsFuture Higher Education Group

Ministry of Education

Ms Loh Gek Khim

Director, Industry Development Division 1

SkillsFuture Singapore

Ms Alison Sim

Director of Nursing

St. Andrew’s Community Hospital

Ms Shirley Tay

Director of Nursing

Mount Alvernia Hospital

A/Prof Yong Keng Kwang

Group Chief Nurse

National Healthcare Group

Dr Catherine Koh

Group Chief Nurse

National University Health System

A/Prof Tracy Carol Ayre

Group Chief Nurse

Singapore Health Services (SingHealth)

Ms Bella Tan

Programme Director (Nursing)

Nanyang Polytechnic

Assoc. Prof Elaine Siow

Programme Director (Nursing)

Singapore Institute of Technology

Prof Liaw Sok Ying Head, Alice Lee Centre for Nursing Studies National University of Singapore